Powwow “咆嘩”- 印第安人舞集

I don’t really know the definition of powwow. According to dictionary, a powwow refers  to  a  meeting, gathering or ceremony, usually accompanied by dancing, singing and rituals, of the native North American people. It is performed for the success in a hunt, cure of disease, etc.

英中字典稱之為北美印第安人的集會, 沒啥味道. 姑暫名之為”咆嘩”, 尚祈高明見教. 朋友中沒有去過powwow的, 這裡所寫的資料都是網上找到的. 待稍閑時會去圖書館找書看看.

We attended our first powwow in May 2007.  It was a modern powwow.  In other words, it is a commercialized powwow. Our first powwow, however, turned out to be one of the most interesting ceremonies we have ever attended. One led to another, we attended a few more later on. All of them claimed to be inter-tribal powwows where both Native American and non-Native American folks meet to dance and sing to honor native Indian culture. I have recently put together a paper album for powwow like I did for other topics, like Takayama, Tibet, Gion Matusri, etc. I don’t have good memory, so I like to write down as much info and interesting notes as  I can remember.  Unfortunately, I haven’t written a single word for the album Powwow just yet. All info posted here are those obtained from the internet.

Please click on picture for large version. Most of the pictures shown here were taken in AIS Memorial Powwow held in Spencer, May 2007.

This entry was posted in Festivals 節/祭, My Collection 自選集, Powwow 印第安人舞集 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment