2013 北美西部行脚之六 : 加州列聖宫 2013 Westbound 6 : Oroville Chinese Temple CA
我們是在遊完雲林廟翌日,返回三藩市途中在Red Bluff 轉入99號公路直取 Oroville 市去参觀列聖宫的。由於希望能在下午六時返抵三藩市, 所以時間上有點緊逼。據說Oroville 市於十九世紀(1863)曾有一萬國人(?)聚居(亦有說五千, 主要是淘金的工人), 其唐人街之規模於當時僅次於三藩市。列聖宫始建於1850代初期, 為木構建築, 可惜不久即被焚毁。其後重建的列聖宫很快又遭祝融光顧。第三度建造的列聖宫改以磚為建材, 成於1863年並迄立至今。廟建於河畔, 當年並未有護堤，火災和水患常令廟受損, 華人不断集資補修, 直至1907一場的特大水災令大部份華人遷離Oroville 市。由1907至1930’s 這段時間內,列聖宫由綏靖伯陳家後人負起管理之責任, 直至1935年捐獻市府保存。除維修外, 市府並於1968年建展覽廳和中式花園。
Info from the website of City of Oroville:
[Dedicated in the spring of 1863, this building served as a temple of worship for 10,000 Chinese; then living here. Funds for this erection and furnishings were provided by the Emperor and Empress of China and local Chinese Labor built the structure. The Building was deeded to the City of Oroville in 1935, by the Chinese Residents.
The Oroville Chinese Temple was built in 1863 to serve a community of 10,000 Chinese. It includes three chapels for each of the major ways of life in China. The main chapel is called Liet Sheng Kong-Temple of the assorted deities. It is a place of prayer for various worships including Taoism, Confucianism, and Buddhism.]
主廟: 列聖宫, 顧名思義, 供奉列位神明。主廟內供奉有關聖帝君, 華陀和天后。
The Main Temple: The oldest temple, buid of brick in 1863, is named Liet Sheng Kong” which means Temple of many Gods and Goddesses.
陳綏靖伯廟: 廣東台山陳仲真乃宋進士/校尉, 文武双全。殺賊有功, 唯遭人所害。台山人感其為民捐軀大德, 建廟奉祀。道光皇帝曾下旨敕封陳仲真英靈為“綏靖伯”，享伯位。
The Chan Room: Adjacent to the main temple is the Chan Room. Built in 1874. The room was built by all Chinese in remembrance of Chan Low Kwan, also know as Viscount of Pacification.
織錦堂, 顧利室(Cullie)及展覽室: 織錦堂和展覽室建於1968 年, 用於展覧列聖宫的花炮旗, 羅傘, 供案圍幕等織錦, 中國家俱等。藏品中包括一系到非常好的皮影戲和不少中式木偶。另外有很多舊日的生活用品, 包括麻將, 三寸金蓮鞋等等。顧利堂乃1976年加建, 內藏不少舊中式衣飾、傢俬等。好些展品, 如,秦俑複製品,跟列聖宫並無直接關係, 似是不同時期由不同藏家捐獻之物, 初看時有點雜亂之感。
The Tapestry Hall, Cullie Room and Display Hall: The Tapestry Hall, built in 1968, houses priceless tapestries, parade umbrellas, an imperial pillar rug of the 16th century. The Cullie Room was added in 1976 with local donation, The clothing and artifacts in display were donated by two Chinese Missionaries. The Display Hall was built in 1968 to show artifacts given to the Chinese Temple, including costumes, furniture and item depicting the daily life of the Chinese in the late 1800s and early 1900s. They have a very beautiful collection of puppets which were brought here by Chinese puppeteers and left when they returned to China.
下面這些木偶據說是早期木偶團來Oroville演出後, 回國前留下的, 相當精緻。
There is a good collection of Chinese clothing, items for daily life and artifact in the Display Room. However, some of the items, like the terracotta army figures (replica) from the tomb of the first emperor of China, have no obvious connection to this temple, they might have been donated by some collectors.
這系列皮影戲影偶十分精采, 保存亦佳,只是未知是否原淘金工之物, 抑或是收藏家的捐贈。
They have a handsome collection of leather puppets for shadow puppets show in the Tapestry Hall, but I’m not sure if they were from Guangdong.
月廟 (根據英文翻譯): 據列聖宫提供的資料, 此兩層建築建於1868年, 二樓為月廟, 地下為議事室(Council Room, 原辦公室?)。月廟原名是Wong Fut Tong, 似乎是廣東音的併音, 可能是”黃佛堂”之音譯。英文稱其為月廟乃因其月門, 或稱月洞門(circular door)之故。廟的資料說此堂供有佛像, 故屬佛教, 不同於主廟為道教云云。 The Moon Temple, on the second floor of the Moon Temple Building. Info from temple’s brochure: [Built in 1868, on the floor above the council room is Wong Fut Tong, which we call the Moon Temple, because of its circular door…. This room devoted to Buddha is perhaps the most religious room in the complex. It has three Buddha statues, one of which is making the sign of wisdom with his hand.]
議事室/辦事處:此室在月廟下層, 除兩座出會用的神龕和一座金木雕外, 並無供奉神像。根據原來陳設, 似為原辨事處, 除花梨雲石枱椅外, 室中並展出舊賬簿, 書信等物。
The Council Room (first floor of the Moon Temple Building): Built in 1868. The room houses a couple of beautiful procession shrines used in parades and a hanging screen of carved wood and gold leaf. The set of old Chinese furniture appeared to be very nice, probably make of hwali wood with marble panels. This room was used primarily for business transactions. Cashier’s book and many items related are in display.
園內一角展有1860時淘金工棲身木屋的複製品。這是1976年時為了参加加州大會展時, 作為縣的展覽品而重建的, 用的木郤是從一1860年的舊穀倉拆下來的舊木。
A typical Chinese miner’s dwelling from 1860’s. This replica was built in 1976 of wood from a barn dating back to the 1860’s. It was part of the Butte County exhibit to the State Fair in 1976.
陳紹前祖祠: 此為2008 新建, 為紀念陳家先人Chin Kong You。Chin 原在Oroville 開店, 此室擺設回復其舊店模樣, 店中有舊中葯櫃, 舊收銀機等物。室內有供案, 作為陳家祖祠。
Fong Lee Room: This is the newest room in the complex. It was dedicated in 2008. The room is a gift to honor Chin Kong You, one of the first Chinese shopkeepers in Oroville. The room is built as a replica of his shop using the original cabinets, light fixtures and furniture. I believe this room is also serves as an ancestral shrine for the Chin (Chan) Family.